Why I Chose to Start Blogging Part 1

To answer that question quickly…I would say that it’s because my husband thought it would be a good idea.  He said, “you would be good at it.”  Then I started to really think about it and thought, yes, maybe I would be good at it.  Or more, importantly, I think I needed to do it.

For the longer and more detailed answer to the question, please read on.

I guess I never really took the time to think about how much has changed in my life in the past year and an half up until recently.  My husband, Michael, and I went from living in an apartment in downtown San Diego to our new home in a quaint suburb outside of Columbus, Ohio.  Gasp!  Yes, I am used to the utter shock of disbelief when I tell people that.  It was a move we knew we were eventually going to make and a choice we wanted to make.  We would be closer to family and friends and at that point in our lives, it was something important to us.  Our thirties were creeping up and starting a family was on our minds.  Don’t get me wrong, we absolutely LOVED San Diego.  It took a little warming up to, but I fell in love with “America’s Finest City” over the five years we lived there.  I had an incredible teaching job that led me to meeting four of my closest friends.  I mean, how many people can honestly say that they work with their closest friends.

IMG_0721
My farewell girls night!

While we loved San Diego, “a magical place with the best beaches and the best beer” (I give credit to my husband for this description of SD) it was never really “home.”  I couldn’t imagine us starting a family and being so far away, and Michael was now free from the Navy, and for the first time, he had the opportunity to choose his own career path.  So, we said goodbye to San Diego and our friends and moved on.

IMG_0770
The Gaslamp…only a block from where we lived

 

Enjoying a Padres Game
Enjoying a Padres Game

One fabulous drive across the country and a house closing later, we landed in Ohio in the summer of 2013 ready to begin this new adventure.  While Michael started his new job, I frantically tried to get my Ohio teaching license cleared and applied for any education/teaching positions that I could.  You would think that with six years of teaching experience, credentials from two states, and a Master’s Degree, I would be all set.  Unfortunately, it took longer than expected, and I spent the rest of the school year subbing in three different districts.  I was fortunate enough to get a long-term sub position, which helped satisfy the structure I needed in my life.  However, subbing was more challenging for me than I thought.  I had a full time teaching position right after graduating college (We Are…Penn State) and then again when Michael and I moved to California, so subbing took a bit of time to get adjusted to.  Throughout this experience, I did meet some really fantastic people, and I confirmed my theory that I am meant to teach in a primary classroom 🙂  I just do better with the little ones!

While adjusting to our new jobs, home, and city, Michael and I were delighted to find out that we were expecting our first child over the holidays last year.  I would say that I knew at Christmastime I was pregnant, but after an “operator error” using a pregnancy test the first time (I swear there wasn’t a plus sign), we really didn’t find out until January 2nd.  To say that we were excited would be an understatement.  And throughout the next nine months, we anxiously awaited the birth of our daughter, Sadie Grace, on August 20, 2014.

I hear the little nugget waking up from her nap, so this would be a good time to break.  To be continued….

Leave a Reply

