Thanksgiving Thoughts and Christmas Beginnings

Thanksgiving was a hit!  Michael and I high-fived each other as we hosted a successful thanksgiving dinner for our family.   While it was a small gathering, (minus 10 of my brothers/sisters/their spouses/nieces and nephews) I think we did a pretty good job.  Even though the turkey is the main event, I always favor the side dishes.  My favorite dishes were the roasted  butternut squash and brussel sprouts and my mom’s stuffing balls.  It’s the only time per year that I enjoy some good old fashioned white bread.  I’ve tried to use different bread and “lighten” up the recipe in the past, but it was not the same.  You just can’t mess with a good thing, especially when it’s your mom’s.

My two favorites!
My two favorites!
Sadie helping me with the turkey!
Sadie helping me with the turkey!

After eating, we enjoyed some relaxing time on the couch.  I think I could have taken the longest nap, but I resisted.

I am really thankful for this guy!
I am really thankful for this guy!

We also took advantage of having our family here to take some pictures for our holiday card.  I’ll share a little preview, but our card features the cutest elf from the North Pole (although, sometimes she can be a South Pole elf 🙂 )

image image

As soon as Thanksgiving is over, I am in Christmas mode.  I want the tree up, lights on, presents wrapped, etc. Speaking of presents, how many of you went out and did some shopping?  I’ve done the whole Black Friday shopping before, but I’d rather shop online or go to the stores without all the crowds.  Plus, I am almost done with my Christmas shopping.  Don’t get me wrong, there is nothing like scoring a big deal!  I thought about going out to Target to get Sadie’s last present, but figured it would be gone by the time I would get there.  Then, like magic, Michael clicked the store pick-up option online and just like that, her gift is ready for pick up today, and I did not have to go out in all that mess.

So rather than braving the crowds, we enjoyed our Black Friday with some beer tasting at Rockmill brewery in Lancaster, OH.  This could possibly be the cutest tasting room ever!  It’s an old farmhouse that they turned into tasting room.  It’s gorgeous.  We packed a lunch and headed down to enjoy some beer and cozied up by a warm fire!

At Rockmill
At Rockmill

After enjoying some food and drinks, we completed our day with our new Fisher family tradition….cutting down our Christmas tree.  We found a cute family-owned tree farm about 5 minutes from our house.  Sadie just thought it was the most exciting thing at first.  She was giggling  and smiling away.  Then, about 5 minutes in, she realized how cold it was and was soon over mom’s favorite family tradition!  We picked the lucky tree then retreated back to the warm car, while Michael and my father-in-law got the tree strapped to the roof.

The lucky tree!
The lucky tree!

I hope your Thanksgiving was just as enjoyable as ours!  Now to enjoy the rest of the weekend.

What did you do on Thanksgiving?  How did you spend your Black Friday?  I’d love to hear all about it!

Leave a Reply

