What’s for dinner?!?

Do you ever get in the, “What should I make for dinner tonight” rut?  I think this comes up about once a month…wait, who I am kidding, probably every week when I try to to plan out the meals for the week ahead.  On Sunday, I start figuring out the meals by searching countless blogs and visiting my go-to websites, Cooking Light and Skinnytaste for ideas.  Basically, I am searching for someone to tell me, “Here, make this!”

I’ve always found cooking to be enjoyable.  Call me crazy, but it’s calming to me.  Well, not as calming some days now when there is an infant trying to launch herself out of her Bumbo seat as you try to convince her that cooking is fun and she’s a great helper 🙂

Happy Helper
Happy Helper
Disgruntled Sous Chef!
Disgruntled Sous Chef

To some, cooking dinner may be a chore but to me, it’s more of a hobby.  I love trying new recipes, and I am very lucky to have a husband who will eat anything and likes to cook himself. (He seriously makes the best breakfast meals ever!)  We’re quite the duo in the kitchen!  Below are pictures of us a couple years ago when we were making our own sushi!

imageimage

 

By no means do I think I am the world’s best chef, but I’ll give myself a pat on the back and say that I do fairly well.  Lately, I’ve been a little more comfortable just trying my own recipes or altering ones I find, partly because I don’t always have the ingredients or I’m trying to make it a little more healthy.  As I previous stated, Michael and I will try anything, so you may find anything from lentil meatloaf to shrimp tacos or tofu veggie stir-fry to a juicy cheeseburger on the dinner table.  However, over the past couple of years, I’ve been finding more ways to cook with proteins other than meat.

While you may think that I must have all the time in the world to decide what to make for dinner, it’s harder than you think when you want to change it up and always keep it healthy and interesting.  Here’s what on the menu for this week:

Monday:  Tofu Veggie Stir-fry with Soba Noodles

Tuesday:  Eggplant and Zucchini Layered Casserole with Chickpea puree

Wednesday: Chicken Tamale Casserole

Thursday:   Falafel with Avocado Spread

Friday:  Some type of homemade pizza

Saturday:  Michael is taking over, but it’s game day!!  I know salmon burgers and black bean nachos are involved 🙂 Go Navy Beat Army!

Sunday:  Who knows?!?

Cheers to cooking and good food!

Leave a Reply

