Christmas Recap and Happy Almost New Year!

Less than 7 hours and we will be ringing in 2015!  Michael and I are enjoying this holiday beer tasting at home, and I couldn’t be happier.  Sadie is currently napping; she thinks she is allowed to stay up late tonight. I told her 8:00 and that’s the latest 😉  I was never a fan of New Year’s Eve anyway, so staying at home is quite alright with me.  Plus, we’ve been binge watching Breaking Bad.  I cannot get enough of this show!

While it is a bit late, I wanted to quickly recap our Christmas.  Christmas has always been my favorite holiday.  I always get really sappy and lovey dovey during the holidays, which Michael always replies, “Oh boy.”   Add a baby into the mix and watch out, it’s 100% better.  We totally got into family traditions and while Sadie is only 4 months old, we played it up big time!!  On Christmas Eve day, we made gingerbread cut-out cookies for Santa, recipe compliments of Gina at Skinnytaste. The weather was warmer than usual for this time of the year, so we took a stroll together during the afternoon, which was so nice!  After Christmas Eve mass, we enjoyed a yummy dinner.  Michael and I always get excited to make a delicious Christmas Eve dinner and on the menu this year was shrimp and scallops with cauliflower puree and a shredded kale and brussel sprout salad.  This meal + paired with a glass of champagne = yummmm!  Then, we enjoyed snapping photos of Sadie before we started our Christmas Eve movie tradition, Love Actually.  Boy, did I luck out with Michael secretly loving this movie.

image
Completely in love with the fireplace and wondering how Santa gets down that chimney!

On Christmas morning, Michael and I patiently (I say that lightly because we practically fought each other running up the stairs as soon as we heard her make a peep) waited for Sadie to wake up to let her know that Santa came.  She opened up her presents and by far her favorite is the Beach Baby Exersaucer!  She also loved her books!

image
Waking up on Christmas morning, happy as can be!

imageimage

After opening our gifts, we quickly regrouped and packed our belongings to travel home to PA to see our families.  My oldest sister, Joleen, has Christmas dinner at her home.  As my family continues to grow, we have seem to have outgrown my parent’s house and fit better in Joleen’s house (I’m number 4 of 5 children!)  And bonus…we all have a big sleepover that night too!  It’s so much fun!  I’m sad to say that I did not take any pictures that night.  The rest of my family was snapping away on their phones and cameras, so I just figured that I would eventually get the pictures from them!  I need to get better at that though.

image  image

Sadie is the 5th grandchild for my parents, but you would think she is the first.  Boy, did she get spoiled! Every time I looked up, someone new was holding her and she was just “turning on the cute!”  That’s Michael’s saying for her when she just smiles away and is just one big ball of adorableness.  She received the cutest clothes, bows, and toys from her grandparents, aunts, and uncles.  With that said, Michael and I are now in search of a bookshelf/storage unit for our family room to “hide” her toys in a stylish/decorative way.

image

As another year wraps up, I think, “How can we possibly top this year?”  We were blessed with the most wonderful and beautiful daughter.  Words cannot describe my love for her.  I cannot wait to see what 2015 holds in store for our family.  Happy New Year’s from our family to yours!

imageimage

Leave a Reply

