Dying to Redecorate the House

Maybe it’s the change in weather or maybe I’ve been watching way too much HGTV, but I just want to redecorate the whole house.  It started with my desire to paint the family room.  The previous owners had painted it a dark/burnt orange…definitely not in my color palette!  However, after moving in and painting other rooms that needed it more, the color of the family room did not bother me as much. Michael and I both were just over it, and honestly, I did not want to think about painter’s tape, painting trim, and cleaning rollers and brushes for a long time.  Well, a year and a half later, the color has got to go!  I think I will wait until the weather gets a bit warmer and possibly a visit from my parents.  Who doesn’t like the extra help?  My parents are great painters…they painted Sadie’s room for me.  So for now, I’ll wait and keep hoarding paint samples.

Since painting the family room is on the back burner, I decided that our dining room needed some love.  Of course, I am always convinced that I can make whatever I find on Pinterest.  So, off I went to Michaels to purchase some supplies.  Sadie was a great helper!

First time riding in a cart and could not be more excited!
First time riding in a cart and could not be more excited!

Do you ever find that once you think you can make something you find on Pinterest/Etsy for so much cheaper, you end up paying just as much, if not more?!?  This happens to me ALL the time.  I never seem to have the paint colors, brushes, stencils, and blank canvases just lying around that  that I think I should have.  This causes me to always second guess my eagerness, but in the end, I  enjoy the sense of accomplishment after completing a project/craft…especially if it actually turns out.

Paint colors
                               Paint colors
Stencils and paint sponges
             Stencils and paint sponges

It took a little over 2 hours to complete, so not bad at all, and most of that was allowing time for the paint to dry between applications.  The final product came out a bit differently than what I planned, but I think I like it 🙂

imageimageNow I am ready for the next craft!  In the meantime, I will be browsing Pinterest and probably swinging by Michaels for those supplies that I “think I have” but really do not.  Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

